What’s on your bedside table?

photo courtesy Pottery Barn
CYNTHIA BEDSIDE TABLE
Bedside Table $249.00- $479.00Baskets, Set of 2 $69.00

I got an email today from a good friend who is temporarily living in Japan. She was scouring my blog looking for a good read. I mentioned that I had just finished The Glass Castle but Jeannette Walls and that everyone should read this book. It left an indelible mark on me — one so strong I have completely drawn a blank on many of the other great books I have read over the past couple of years or so. The few that I can think of are Nineteen Minutes and My Sister’s Keeper both by Jodi Picoult. I also adored Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen. Other than that I am drawing a complete blank. It doesn’t help that all my books are now packed in boxes labeled “Books/Office” so I can not rumage through anything!

I welcome you to comment and post your favorite books and any suggestions or recommendations you may have. I would love to see what we can all come up with!

11 thoughts on “What’s on your bedside table?

  1. I’m currently reading Keeping Faith by Jodi Piccoult. Another great one by her. Probably doesn’t help you much though!

  2. I love “The Bean Trees” and “The Poisonwood Bible”, by Barbara Kingsolver. Also like “Tbe Bonesetter’s Daughter” and “the Kitchen God’s Wife”, by Amy Tan. One of my favorite very funny, very weird reads is “Skinny Legs and All” by Tom Robbins. I love adolescent lit, and “Holes” is a quick and very fun read. So is “The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants.” There ya go. I remember when I used to read…. sigh….

  3. Sarah just reminded me of Eat, Pray, Love. That was my favorite book in 07… warning to anyone who reads it… you may just want to take off, travel the world and leave the spouse and kids behind!!!

  4. Jess, you already know- I just finished The Glass Castle and it was FABULOUS!! I was so sad that it ended!
    I just bought Eat Pray Love and Three Cups of Tea at B&N yesterday, but haven’t started either one yet. I’ll let you know what I think once I’ve read them.

  5. The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards is one that comes to mind… and anything by Jodi Piccoult. My favorites are My Sister’s Keeper, 19 Minutes, and Salem Falls. I’m reading (listening to, actually) The Photograph by Penelope Lively right now, which looks promising.

  6. Angela… I was terribly disappointed by the Memory Keepers Daughter… I thought it was so hyped up to be a such a great read and it was just good…

  7. Just finished Ask Again Later by Jill A. Davis… I needed something light and quick and easy coming off the heals of The Glass Castle… The story deals with love and loss, not in a heavy, upsetting way but with a good amount of humor. I really enjoyed it.

  8. I’ve liked what I’ve read by Piccoult. I also loved Barbara Kingsolver’s books. Thousand Splendid Sun, Water for Elephants are two I’ve read recently. My mom got me hooked on The Lady Detective Agency series. Set in South Africa, light and quick reads but good. Also I like the Mitford Series, some more light reads and recently she introduced me to the Elm Creek Quilters series which I also enjoy. I always want to go out and make another quilt when I read one. I loved Memoirs of a Geisha too. Unfortunately I get little time to indulge in browsing for books and even less to read but I still sneak in some quality time with a good book.

Leave a Reply

