Must Love Dogs

I hate bedtime. Not mine but the kids. It’s such a drain going through the motions and the battles of getting pajamas on, teeth brushed, allergy medications taken, back in to bed when they get out, lights off when they come back on… you get the drift. I am taxed and tired at the end of the day and I want none of my kids crap. How’s that for tender loving bluntness?

Well last night I was putting Alexander to bed. He wanted to sleep with his dogs…. ALL of his dogs. They were all out on the floor on a red blanket celebrating Dalmatian’s Birthday. I asked him, incredulously, if he really wanted all of his dogs. His answer was short and precise. “Yup.”

So I got all of the dogs off the floor and piled them on to Alexander’s bed. I tucked him back in and was ready to start singing him some of our lullabies. Then he proclaimed that there were too many dogs on his bed and he just wanted Bunny. So I took all the dogs off the bed and tossed them on the floor. I tucked Bunny under his arm.

Alexander caught sight of the heap of dog mess on the floor and told me to place them neatly against the wall. Seriously? So I did. Seriously! (You have to do what this kid wants or he won’t stop asking/whining/pestering! And I wanted him asleep… and Pronto!)

Then he told me they needed a blanket. On top of them. Not on the floor. Apparently one was not enough. I had to get another. Oh, and they needed their Birthday cake too.

That was one of the most bizarre bedtimes I have had in my nearly 10 years of parenting.



7 thoughts on “Must Love Dogs

  1. I too dread bedtime.

    Daddy typically does bedtime in our house because I hate it so much, it gave me time to rest, and it gave Daddy time with our Monkey since he works outside of the house all day…. perhaps you could try that??

    Plus, I am much more likely to snuggle in with the hubbie if I have had even just 30 minutes without little voices and constant touching, and a glass of wine… so he got into the routine pretty quick. 😉

    Good luck mama… and great pics – I am horrible about capturing those moments because I am usually too ticked!

    Angie
    angela@moresugarthanspice.com

  2. I dreab bedtime for myself. I will lay on the couch till the last possibly moment. My husband is always dragging me down stairs.

  3. Bedtime is so much fun….not!!! Carter is about to start back on his school year evening work schedule since school starts back a week from today. I will be having all our bedtime routine done by just me…ugh. Actually, Walker is pretty easy but I just need to get them back on a timely schedule…not late night summer one.

  4. I have been waiting for almost 10 years to have help at bedtime. Sometimes I do. It is rare. Very rare. Like when I am on death’s bed… or out for the evening! LOL

  5. That is so cute!! I love the silly things they come up with at this age!

    I’m also not a fan of bedtime, so it’s usually Daddy’s job. 🙂

  6. glad to know I’m not the only one who hates bedtime. I am stalling right now, even though I desperately want my children out of my hair. Oh, the dichotomies of motherhood….

Leave a Reply

